Awards & Fellowships

Recognizing the Future of AADPRT

Please note - you must be a paid AADPRT member (training directors only) to submit an awards nomination.

Winning institutions are not eligible to submit nominees for a two-year period (e.g. submitted in 2021 (won in 2022) is eligible to submit again in 2024).

NOTE: 2021 and 2022 winners were recognized at the virtual events for those years and will be invited to attend the 2023 Annual Meeting in San Diego, CA.

Check Institution Eligibility
Past Winners
Nomination Letter Writing Tips
 (Marcy Verduin's Annual Meeting Skills Fair Presentation)

Submissions accepted 8/11 - 9/20, 11:59pm CT

Special thanks to PRMS

The American Association of Directors of Psychiatric Residency Training wishes to express its sincere gratitude to Professional Risk Management Services, Inc. (PRMS). Thanks to their generosity, our 2021 and 2022 resident recipients of the IMG and Henderson awards will be able to attend the 2023 AADPRT Annual Meeting so they may be recognized in front of their peers for their notable accomplishments. We extend our sincere gratitude to PRMS for this outstanding gesture of support for the future of psychiatry.

PRMS U is an online education and risk management portal for residents/fellows and training directors. Access on-demand courses, state-specific resources, risk management articles, and more! To request access below referencing PRMS U.

 Request Access
Visit PRMS U

Support Awards/Fellowships

AAAP-AADPRT Visiting Scholar Award in Addiction Education

The American Academy of Addiction Psychiatry (AAAP) and the AADPRT Addictions Committee are pleased to announce the creation of the new AAAP-AADPRT Visiting Scholars Award in Addiction Education, developed to promote and improve educational programming in addiction psychiatry for general psychiatry residents and Child and Adolescent (CAP)fellowships.

Submission Deadline: September 20, 11:59 CT


Lifetime Service Award

This award acknowledges a psychiatrist AADPRT member who has provided significant service to AADPRT over time.

Submission Deadline: September 20, 11:59 CT

Award submission requirements include:

  • Letter of nomination from a current or past AADPRT member detailing the nominee's contribution
  • Nominee CV
  • Brief bio of nominee
  • Head shot of nominee

view award

George Ginsberg Fellowship Awards

The George Ginsberg Fellowship acknowledges the excellence and accomplishments of outstanding residents interested in education and teaching who are pursuing careers as Clinician-Educators and/or Academic Administrators.

Submission Deadline: September 20
Previous award winners are not eligible.

View Award

Nyapati Rao and Francis Lu International Medical Graduate (IMG) Fellowship

The Nyapati Rao and Francis Lu IMG Fellowship Program is designed to promote the professional growth of exceptional IMG residents and fellows and facilitate their successful development as leaders in American psychiatry.

Submission Deadline: September 20
Previous award winners are not eligible.

View Award

Lucille Fusaro Meinsler Program Administrator Award

AADPRT recognizes the outstanding skills that psychiatry residency Program Administrators possess and utilize in the day-to-day management of a residency program.

Submission Deadline: September 20
Previous award winners are not eligible.

View Award

Peter Henderson MD Memorial Award

The Henderson Award honors the late Peter Henderson, MD, the first child and adolescent psychiatrist to serve as AADPRT president (1983-1984), by recognizing the best published or unpublished work in the area of child and adolescent psychiatry.

Submission Deadline: September 20
Previous award winners are not eligible.

View Award

Victor J. Teichner Award

The American Academy of Psychodynamic Psychiatry and Psychoanalysis (AAPDPP) and AADPRT co-sponsor the Victor J. Teichner Award. It was developed to promote and improve the teaching of psychodynamic principles to trainees in Psychiatry.

More Information | Submit Nomination

Submission Deadline: December 15


annual meeting

Abstracts, Awards, PA Proposals, TD 20-minute Tips

Selections announced Tuesday, November 1.

Book Hotel