Leadership Progression

Steering Committee Leadership Progression

AADPRT has a seven-year leadership progression from Program Chair-elect to Past, Past President to best prepare leaders to be president and ensure institutional knowledge retention. 

The Program Chair-elect is selected by the Nominating Committee chaired by the Past President. Committee members are nominated by AADPRT members and self-nominations are encouraged. The committee selects the Program Chair-elect from nominations offered by AADPRT members.

Read the below documents carefully to understand the scope of the position BEFORE SUBMITTING A NOMINATION.
Leadership Track (Steering committee) job Descriptions
Nominating Committee Process
Nominee Notification Letter
Program Chair Critical Dates
Program Chair call for nominations

Nominations only accepted from psychiatrist AADPRT members.
Submit Nomination

Program Chair Nomination Timeline

  • Nominations accepted: December 5, 2023 - January 8, 2024
  • Nominees submit CV and personal statement and schedule their interview (deadline for materials is one week prior to interview -- January 2-23)
  • Interviews conducted: Tuesdays, 5:15-6:15p ET, January 9-30
  • Nominating Committee deliberations: January 9 - March 1, 2024
  • Announcement at Annual Meeting: March 2, 2024

See video of the leadership progression below



Virtual Recruitment Fairs

AADPRT will once again host virtual recruitment fairs to connect medical students with psychiatric residency training programs.

More info