

SOLICITATION FOR PROGRAM CHAIR

As Past-president and Chair of the Nominating Committee, I would like to solicit your nominations for the Program Chair for the 2026 AADPRT Annual Meeting. The Program Chair will work to plan the Annual Meeting along with Tracey Guthrie, who will be President in 2025-2026.

When we choose a Program Chair, we are also choosing a leader for our organization. This person will serve through a yearly progression starting as Program Chair-elect before moving on to Program Chair, Secretary, President-elect, President, Past President, and finally Past-Past President. As such, this involves a seven-year engagement. This path ensures that the President has substantial experience with the workings of the organization and has the benefit of the experience of predecessors. Please <u>click here</u> for a description of the roles of the various leadership positions and the Program Chair timeline.

For the 2023-24 nominating period, we maintained the Nominating Committee's current structure. To read about the process, <u>click here</u>. As Past President, I chair the five-member committee that includes myself, Mary Burris (AADPRT member-at-large representative and selected by lottery), Theadia L. Carey (J.E.D.I. representative), Narpinder K Malhi (IMG representative), and Ann Schwartz (EC member representative). To create more continuity in deliberations, we invited Ronke Babalola, who was a member of the 2022-23 Nominating Committee, to serve as a non-voting member in an advisement capacity.

To be eligible for the 2026 Program Chair position, you must be an Individual or Emeritus Member of AADPRT who is a psychiatrist. In addition, you must have served within the past five (5) years as a Training Director (TD) or Associate/Assistant Training Director (ATD) at time of nomination. In other words, you do not have to be a TD or ATD entering the leadership trajectory and/or you may step away from this role during the leadership period. Current members of the Nominating Committee cannot be nominated for the Program Chair position. By self-nominating or agreeing to be nominated, we assume you are committed to the seven-year leadership trajectory as outlined above. We encourage you to self-nominate or nominate someone who you feel has the leadership experience and interest to lead our organization. If you are nominating someone else, please confirm that your nominee is willing to serve *before* you nominate them!

Though anyone meeting eligibility (noted above) may be nominated for this position, we have provided a list of people (over the past five (5) years) who have significant experience in AADPRT as evidenced by having served on the Executive Council (with the exception of those who requested their name be withdrawn). If you would like to nominate one of these colleagues, or any other eligible AADPRT member, you'll be prompted to include an explanation of why you think the nominee would be an excellent choice to help lead our organization and that you confirmed their willingness to be nominated. Each member can make one nomination.

Once nominee names have been solicited, the Nominating Committee will reach out to each nominee and request a CV and personal statement outlining why they want to help lead AADPRT, a description of their involvement within AADPRT, key leadership experiences outside of



AADPRT, and a brief description of their short- and long-term career goals. A 30-minute Zoom interview with members of the Nominating Committee will then be scheduled and will explore their interest in the position, what they have brought to and gained from AADPRT involvement, areas of leadership, and how they bring diversity to the position. The 2026 Program Chair selection will be announced at the 2024 Annual Meeting in Austin!

Nominations will be accepted through Monday January 8, 2024. Please reach out to me if you have any questions about the process.

Please submit your nomination via the button below. Thank you for your involvement in this crucial process.

Sallie DeGolia, MD, MPH Past President Chair, 2023-24 Nominating Committee

Submit nomination