

## Lifetime Service Award

The purpose of the award is to acknowledge a psychiatrist member who has either provided significant service to AADPRT, had an impact on psychiatric residency education nationally, demonstrated excellence in psychiatric residency education, or provided generativity and mentoring in residency, or some combination of these. The awardee will be honored at the Annual Meeting.

## 2022 Winner

Michael D. Jibson, MD, PhD Professor of Psychiatry and Associate Chair for Education and Academic Affairs University of Michigan

I graduated from University of California Santa Cruz in chemistry

and psychology. Despite an early interest in psychiatry. I instead followed my undergraduate faculty's advice and pursued a PhD in biochemistry at the University of California San Francisco, followed by postdoctoral work in chemical immunology at the Weizmann Institute. While there, a perceptive mentor suggested that I spend less time thinking about my next postdoc and more time thinking about what I wanted to do for the rest of my life. I promptly applied to medical school, attended University of California Davis, and did my residency and fellowship at Stanford. Not having fully resolved my career ambivalence, I agonized throughout my postgraduate years over whether I should follow the career track of my clinical advisors or that of my research advisors. Only when faced with the prospect of leaving California in search of affordable housing (my infant daughter's bassinette was in the bathroom) did I finally ask myself what the perfect job would actually look like. The answer was unambiguous, I wanted to be a teacher. I moved to University of Michigan in 1993, immediately became involved in medical student teaching, and in 1996 became residency education director, a position I held for the next 24 years. Although I recently handed that off, I continue as associate chair for education and co-director of the medical school's behavioral science curriculum. AADPRT has been a perg of the job, with wonderful colleagues who have become lifelong friends and repeated opportunities to pursue projects and interests with potential to improve the lives of our trainees and the field at large. I am grateful beyond measure to the organization and its members for the chance to join them in this work. Nominated by: Heather Schultz, MD, MPH University of Michigan

## 2021 Winner

Deborah Cowley, MD Professor Emerita University of Washington Medical Center

Dr. Deborah Cowley completed her M.D. at the University of Pennsylvania and her Psychiatry residency at the University of Washington. Currently, she is Professor Emeritus in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at the University of Washington. She was the department's Psychiatry Residency Director 1997-2015 and Vice Chair for Education 2005-2020. Her clinical work, teaching, and scholarship focus on perinatal psychiatry, anxiety disorders, psychiatric education, and faculty development. She has served as President of the American Association of Directors of Psychiatric Residency Training (AADPRT); has chaired AADPRT committees on research in residency, Child portal programs, duty hours, Milestones assessment, and faculty development; and has served on the ACGME Psychiatry Milestones Workgroup and American Psychiatric Association Practice Guidelines Steering Committee.

Nominated by: Mark Servis, MD University of California, Davis