

## AAAP-AADPRT Visiting Scholar Award in Addiction Education

Co-chairs: Amber Frank, MD and Scott Oakman, MD, PhD

## Tessa L. Manning, MD, University of Oklahoma School of Medicine

Dr. Tessa L. Manning, MD is an Assistant Professor at the University of Oklahoma School of Community Medicine where she serves as the Associate Program Director and the Medical Director of Consultation-Liaison Psychiatry in the Psychiatry Department. She currently serves as the President-Elect and DEI Task Force Chair for the Oklahoma Psychiatric Physicians Association. She received her medical degree and completed Psychiatry residency at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical School in Dallas. She is board certified in Psychiatry by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology and in

Addiction Medicine by the American Board of Preventative Medicine. Her current clinical work involves the care of Adult Psychiatry and Addiction patients in both inpatient, general hospital, and outpatient settings. Her interests include improving medical student and resident education, psychiatric care of the medically ill, and reducing stigma and inequalities for patients with mental illness and addiction.

## Anne McBride, MD, University of California, Davis

Dr. Anne McBride is a child and adolescent and forensic psychiatrist at the University of California, Davis. She is the Division Chief of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry at UCD, Program Director of the Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Fellowship at UCD, and an Associate Professor of Clinical Psychiatry. Her primary clinical work is at the Sacramento County Mental Health Treatment Center where she evaluates minors in psychiatric crisis on the Children's Intake Stabilization Unit and at the Child Behavioral Health Center and

MIND Institute. Her primary forensic work involves consultation and evaluation of juveniles involved in the juvenile justice system. She is the 2020-2021 McDermott Assistant Editor-In-Residence for JAACAP and the 2021-2022 Editor of JAACAP Connect.

## Pamela McPherson, MD, LSU Health Sciences Center

Dr. McPherson is program director for Child and Adolescent Psychiatry and Vice-Chair of the Department at the Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center in Shreveport, Louisiana. She has an extensive background consulting with juvenile justice systems in multiple capacities including court-ordered evaluations, civil rights investigations, monitoring consent decrees, and assisting facilities in achieving compliance with standards of care in the United States and Canada. She is a mental health subject matter expert for the US

Department of Homeland Security. She has been awarded the APA Assembly Profile of Courage Award, Ridenhour Prize for Truth-telling, Physicians for Human Rights, Human Rights Hero Award and the Ralph Waldo Emerson Award for her advocacy work for persons seeking asylum in the United States.





