

## Victor J. Teichner Award

The American Academy of Psychodynamic Psychiatry and Psychoanalysis (AAPDPP) and AADPRT are pleased and proud to announce the 16th cycle of the Victor J. Teichner Award, developed to promote and improve the teaching of psychodynamic principles to trainees in Psychiatry.

Criteria for a program's attaining the award include: lack of local resources to assist the program in the area of psychodynamic education (e.g. lack of onsite faculty, lack of proximity to a Psychoanalytic Institute); enthusiasm on the part of the program and its leadership to incorporate psychodynamically oriented educational proposals into the curriculum; and clearly defined training needs, goals and objectives. We are especially interested in learning about efforts your program has made to date to include psychodynamic principles in psychotherapy training.

We invite the Training Directors of AADPRT to apply for this award. It is made annually on the basis of an application to the Award Committee, composed of three representatives from AAPDPP and three from AADPRT. The Program Award is a three-day visit from a Visiting Scholar chosen from a list maintained by the AAPDPP from among its members. The choice of Visiting Scholar and the structure of the visit are made by the Program, while the costs for the visit are born by the Teichner program. Both the Program and the Scholar will be recognized at the Annual Meetings of the AAPDPP and AADPRT.

Victor J. Teichner was an innovative psychoanalyst, educator, public sector psychiatrist, and Past-President of the AAPDPP before his death in 1983 at age 56. A grateful patient of Dr. Teichner's made the initial endowment in the hope that Dr. Teichner's creative psychodynamic approach might be part of the learning of the next generation of psychiatric clinicians, scholars, and educators.

The Teichner Program Awardees have been:

- 1. Debra Katz, MD, University of Kentucky; Teichner Scholar: Jennifer Downey, MD (2008)
- 2. Jeff Stovall, MD, Vanderbilt University; Teichner Scholar: Deborah Cabaniss, MD (2009)
- 3. Tai P. Yoo, MD, UCLA-Kern; Teichner Scholar: Deborah Cabaniss, MD (2010)
- 4. Joanna Chambers, MD, Indiana University; Teichner Scholar: Richard Brockman, MD (2011)
- 5. Jeffrey Katzman, MD, University of New Mexico; Teichner Scholar: Elizabeth L. Auchincloss MD (2012)

- 6. Cynthia Pristach, MD, State University of New York at Buffalo; Teichner Scholar: Deborah Cabaniss MD (2013)
- 7. Shawn Van Gerpen, MD, University of South Dakota/Sanford School of Medicine; Teichner Scholar: Elizabeth L. Auchincloss MD (2014)
- 8. Timothy Sullivan, MD, and Michael Twist, MD, North Shore LIJ Staten Island University Hospital; Teichner Scholar: Cesar A. Alfonso MD (2015)
- 9. Two Teichner awardees for 2016: (a) Henry W. Weisman, MD, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, El Paso; Teichner Scholar: Allan Tasman MD, and (b) Sandra Rackley, MD, Kristin Somers, MD, Cosima Swintak, Mayo Clinic, Teichner Scholar: Elizabeth L. Auchincloss MD
- 10. Caroline Fisher, MD PhD, Good Samaritan Regional Medical Center, Corvallis, Oregon; Teichner Scholar: Elizabeth L. Auchincloss MD (2017)
- 11. Two Teichner awardees in 2018: (a) Donald W. Black, MD and Erin Crocker, MD, University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics; Teichner Scholar: César Alfonso, MD and (b) Heike Minnich, PsyD, HSPP, Dipl.-Psych. and Eunice Peterson, MD, GHS University of South Carolina School of Medicine Greenville; Teichner Scholar: Allan Tasman, MD
- 12. Mariam Rahmani, MD, and Michael Adam Shapiro, MD, University of Florida, Gainesville, Child and Adolescent Program; Teichner Scholar: Eugene Beresin, MD (2019)
- 13. Karim Ghobrial-Sedky, MD, MSc, DFAPA, Cooper Medical School of Rowan University Teichner Scholar: David Mintz, MD (2020)
- 14. Two Teichner Awardees in 2021: (a) Rebecca Lundquist, MD, Broadlawns UnityPoint Psychiatry Residency Training Program; Teichner Scholar: Robert Feinstein, MD; and (b) John Luo, MD, University of California, Irvine Psychiatry Residency Training Program; Teichner Scholar: David Mintz, MD
- 15. Two Teichner Awardees in 2022: (a) Martin Klapheke, MD, Director of Psychotherapy, and Anuja Mehta, MD, Training Director, The University of Central Florida/HCA Orlando Psychiatry Residency; Teichner Scholar: Robert Feinstein, MD; and (b) Carlos Velez, MD, Associate Director, and Jason Schillerstorm, MD, Residency Director, University of University of Texas Health San Antonio; Teichner Scholar: Allan Tasman, MD

Training Program applications are available at <a href="www.AAPDP.org">www.AAPDP.org</a>, or by contacting AADPRT or AAPDP.

- Deadline for the submission of applications by programs: **December 15, 2022**
- Selection Committee decision: February 1, 2023
- Deadline for program selection of recipient/Master Teacher: May 1, 2023
- Deadline for completion of scholar's visit to program: **June 30, 2024**

Please address any questions or comments to Sherry Katz-Bearnot, M.D., Eugene Beresin, M.D., or Marie Westlake at the AAPDP office (<a href="mailto:info@AAPDPP.org">info@AAPDPP.org</a>), or the AADPRT office (<a href="mailto:exec@aadprt.org">exec@aadprt.org</a>).

Download Materials: <a href="http://aapdp.org/index.php/education/teichner/">http://aapdp.org/index.php/education/teichner/</a>